Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links You'll Need
All Library Databases
A list of all the databases we have access to at IUP
For full details about getting any book or article through the library, follow the instructions on this page
Link to the complete Library Website
Art Stor will allow you to search a database of art images from museums and galleries around the world.
Digital Public Library of America
Access to public library and museum collections throughout the United States
Historical articles from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more
Use this link to look up background information in a variety of encyclopedias.
Databases by Subject
The databases above are just a sampling of what we have access to. Look into the subject areas for more resources.
Tips and Tricks
You must click "Enter" before you will be able to use the search function.
Use the classification limits on the left side of the screen if you are looking for a particular type of image
Create an account to download any image
Oxford Reference Online
Use the Reference Type box to view overview pages, in depth articles, and more
Click on any record to view the entry that matches your search term
Getting Full Text Articles
1) Click - Through
Click on whatever link says "full text" within the database until you either hit a dead end, or find the PDF of your article.
2) Full Text Journal Finder
If there are no linked options, try searching by journal name in the full text journals
3) ILL (Inter-library Loan)
ILL means we do not own the article you want, but can get it for free. This usually takes a few days or up to a week.
Use Illiad to request items we do not own: https://iup.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html
Art Stor: Use to look up images from museums and galleries around the world.
NOTE: You MUST create an ArtStor login to download or copy any images. These images are only to be used for educational purposes.
Oxford Reference Online: Use this to look up encyclopedia entries and other reference texts on subjects from your inspiration board.