Welcome to the IUP Special Collections and University Archives
Looking for information about IUP, Pennsylvania, coal culture, or rare books? The IUP Special Collections and University Archives collects, organizes, and provides access to information relevant to the history of Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP) since the founding of Indiana Normal School in 1875. You can search our archival collections using ArchivesSpace. In addition to IUP and regional history resources, the department has significant holdings related to Pennsylvania and rare books especially English and American literature. For more information, visit the IUP Special Collections and University Archives.
Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist
Archival Resources Available
- Record Groups document the history of IUP such as Record Group 35 Commencement and IUP Publications.
- Manuscript Groups are collections donated by individuals, businesses, and organizations including the Rochester & Pittsburgh Coal Company Records (Manuscript Group 51) and the R&P Media Collection (Manuscript Group 94) with photographs and interviews
- Record Group and Manuscript Group Collections include paper and electronic documents, these archival resources can be searched using ArchivesSpace
- The Pennsylvania Collection documents the Commonwealth including labor and industrial heritage
- The Rare Book Collection has first editions and fine printing with a focus on English and American literature
- Search the Pennsylvania and the Rare Book Collections in the IUP Libraries' catalog
Related Websites
- IUP Special Collections and University Archives: www.iup.edu/archives
- Pennsylvania Coal Culture: https://www.iup.edu/archives/coal/
- African American History in Indiana County: http://libraryguides.lib.iup.edu/c.php?g=706838
- Indiana County in the American Civil War: https://www.iup.edu/archives/civilwar/
- Institute for Mine Mapping, Archival Procedures, and Safety (IMAPS): https://www.iup.edu/energy/research-initiatives/minemaps/
- Historical and Genealogical Society of Indiana County, Pennsylvania: https://sites.rootsweb.com/~paicgs/
- Jimmy Stewart Museum: https://www.jimmy.org/
- Knowledge Repository @ IUP: https://knowledge.library.iup.edu/
