Skip to main content

Finding Government Information with Your Depository Library

This guide provides links to federal and Pennsylvania state government information sites.

Search Tools for Finding Government Information Online

  • Catalog of Government Publications-  the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)  is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
  • USA.gov   the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
  • Search Government Publications with FDSYS Federal Digital System    provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications — FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need. Browse for documents and publications — FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author. Access metadata about documents and publications — FDsys provides information about Government publications in standard XML formats. Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats — With FDsys, users can download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed file.
  • Cross Agency Portals  -  Allows you to search special government websites for  information on a particular topic.
  • State and Local Government on the Net    This Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments. Use the drop-down menus on the left to view directory pages for:  States: State Government Offices - View all the websites in a given state -- from a state's home page or governor's site to the smallest counties or townships. Topics: The websites of state government constitutional officers, state legislatures, state judiciaries and departments across ALL states.
  • Hot Docs  Government Documents in the News This page from Yale University contains links to full text documents or reports about major governmental activities  which have been featured in the news.
  • Documents in the News from the University of Michigan Documents Center this site contains links to full text documents or reports about major governmental activities  which have been featured in the news.
  • Fedflix FedFlix features the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.