Skip to main content

Finding Government Information with Your Depository Library

This guide provides links to federal and Pennsylvania state government information sites.

Databases for IUP Users

  • Search Pilot Online Catalog  Search IUP Libraries online catalog to find tangible documents in our collection and links to electronic government information sources. .
  • Academic Universe (LEXIS/NEXIS)  Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your specific research needs.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. Uses a Web interface.
  • CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers, series, NGO research, proceedings, journals, books, and policy briefs.
  • Congressional Universe  The most comprehensive online resource available for Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research. Now called: ProQuest Congressional Uses the ProQuest interface.
  • CQ Electronic Library  Offers an exceptional line of government, public policy and current awareness reference databases including: CQ Researcher, CQ Supreme Court Collection, CQ Weekly, and more.
  • CQ Weekly  Weekly report of congressional and "inside-the-beltway" happenings. Each issue discusses current bills, trends in Washington, and perspectives and analysis on government activities.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts Indexes major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes Full text.
  • Environment Complete  Environmental Policy Index provides researchers with abstract/index information to over 1000 titles covering Environmental policy and studies. There is ongoing coverage for over 500 of those titles.
  • GreenFILE   GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
  • International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center Offers information on virtually every dimension of security and counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
  • Military and Government Collection  Provides full text for over 320 military related periodicals and general interest magazines.
  • Worldcat  Over 50 million records of material cataloged by libraries. Often includes links to online full-text government publications.