Skip to main content

Finding Government Information with Your Depository Library

This guide provides links to federal and Pennsylvania state government information sites.

Finding Tools

Use these tools to search for federal government information:

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.   Lists and describes federal publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword.

FDsys . Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more.

Google. Limit your results to authoritative government websites by adding site:.gov to your keywords to limit searching to governmental websites.

IUP Pilot.  Use our online catalog to find hard copy documents in our collection, as well as links to online documents (add online government to your search to find only online government documents) .

MetaLib  A federated search engine that searches multiple federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while linking to selected resources available online.

United States Government Manual. This official handbook of the federal government describes programs and activities of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and federal boards, commissions, and committees.

U.S. Government Databases   Subject and alphabetical lists of databases for federal government information - much of which is not findable through a general web search.

USA.gov  Official portal to government information and services provided by the federal government.