LibGuides: NURS316: Evidence Based Practice in Nursing (Gerwick): Choosing Databases

General Searching - Discovery Search

Use the search below to search within the IUP Libraries for articles, books, e-books, and more.

EBSCO and ProQuest Databases

Recommended Nursing Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Allied Health Professions, Food and Nutrition, Medicine, Nursing
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles.
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Allied Health Professions, Food and Nutrition, Medicine, Nursing
Provider: Cochrane. Coverage: Scholarly, clinical. Full-text.
Content: Evidence-based medicine and healthcare information.
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Allied Health Professions, Food and Nutrition, Kinesiology, Health and Sport Science, Nursing
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles and citations.
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Medicine, Allied Health Professions, Biomedicine, Food and Nutrition, Nursing, Occupational Health, Safety Science
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Ovid Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
Nursing, Allied Health Professions, Medicine, Safety Science
Provider: OVID. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles and abstracts.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health, Biomedicine, Food and Nutrition, Safety Science
Provider: NIH. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Limited full-text.
Content: Articles, clinical studies
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), PubMed is a web-based search tool for accessing citations and full-text journals in medicine and life sciences.