Skip to main content

American Mafia. Guide to Library Research: Home

Ask a Librarian

Drop by the reference desk. It is staffed with a faculty librarian most daytime and early evening hours the library is open.

Call us at 724-357-3006

Send an email message or check our knowledge base through our Ask Us reference service http://answers.lib.iup.edu/ ,

Send us a text message to: (724) 401-1984 .

Guide to IUP Libraries

Open Access Sources of Government and other Primary Source Information

Background sources

Mafia Encyclopedia [REF] HV6441 .S53 2005

Credo Reference  http://search.credoreference.com/ 

Historical Newspaper Articles and other Primary Sources

Historians rely upond primary sources to do historical research. Historical newspaper sources often offer valuable primary source information on the news of the day. Every day more and more historical newspaper source material becomes available on the Internet, either through IUP Library databases or freely accessible digital projects. Historical newspaper databases offered by IUP Libraries include the Historical New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and the Wall Street Journal, and Access Newspaper.  The Google Newspaper Archive site also offers full-text access to many other historical newspapers.

Library Databases for Secondary Sources

Accessing Library Databases from Off-Campus

Remote Access Through KLN PASS

IUP Libraries subscribe  to our databases from vendors who require us to limit access to IUP users only. If you attempt to access databases from on-campus, they recognize your connection with the University. If you try to access databases from home,you will probably be directed to a login screen (unless you have the VPN set up)

To log into databases, you can use your single-sign on information, the same way you log into MyIUP or D2L. 


Choose your institution          

Subject Guide

Finding Primary Sources Keywords

Letters
Manuscripts
Diaries
Journals
Speeches
Interviews
Pictures
Audio recordings
Film (sometimes)
Documents (sometimes)
Newspaper (sometimes)

Citation

Understanding Primary Sources