Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Nursing Databases
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,350 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. It also provides indexing for more than 5,200 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Complete covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
Cochrane Library (ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN)
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. Uses a Web interface.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
Journal of the American Medical Assn. (JAMA)
Iincludes the full text of JAMA, published by the American Medical Association. JAMA is published weekly, 48 issues per year, and new issues are posted on the Web site at 3 PM CT on Tuesdays. Full Text content begins with 1998 to Present.
Medline with Full-Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
The NEJM site includes the full text of NEJM, published by the New England Journal of Medicine. NEJM is published weekly, 48 issues per year. Uses a Web interface.
OVID Nursing Full Text Plus
Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a comprehensive and cost-effective single source of premier current journal content from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, one of the most respected names in nursing and health sciences publishing. This collection includes the complete full text, including text and images, of more than 22,000 current articles. Content includes 33 research and 12 practitioner- oriented journals with coverage dates as far back as 1995. There are also 8 OVID titles, formerly received by IUP Libraries in print only that were not part of the Nursing collection. These titles have also been converted to online access. These titles are limited to a one user access level. These titles include: Critical Care Medicine, Journal of Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation, Journal of Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation & Prevention, Journal of Nervous & Mental Disease, Neurolog, Neurology Clinical Practice, Psychosomatic Medicine.Note: This link accesses IUP Full Text Content only. You can broaden the search to all OVID Nursing Content on the search screen but then some titles will have title and abstract access only, yet will serve as a discovery source for nursing content.
PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Uses a Web interface.
All Health Sciences Databases
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings as well as other materials. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
EBOOKS on EBSCOhost -- Clinical Collection
The eBook Clinical Collection subscription was built specifically to support clinical professionals, researchers and students of medical disciplines. Featured in the collection are over 2,000 recent titles covering general practice, various specialties, topics in nursing and allied health, and supporting sciences. Content is updated quarterly, and all titles are available with unlimited user access--particularly helpful in healthcare settings for users with time-sensitive research needs. This subscription collection features over 2,600 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
EBOOKS on EBSCOhost -- Nursing Collection
Designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions, and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs, this subscription collection features over 300 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks, and professional growth titles. Through the eBook Nursing Collection, users have access to the most current content; all titles in the collection are from 2011 and forward and newer titles replace older content as updates are made so that users always have access to the latest information. Publishers highlighted in this collection include Demos Medical Publishing, HCPro, McGraw-Hill Education, Oxford University Press, Sigma Theta Tau International, Springer Publishing Company, and more. All titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are regularly added to the collection. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world�s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Uses a Web interface.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects
Nursing Reference Center
Nursing Reference Center (NRC) is the premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. With Nursing Reference Center, nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills, and read full-text journal articles anytime, and anywhere. Uses the Nursing Reference Center Interface interface.
ScienceDirect offers one of the world's most advanced web delivery systems for scientific, technical and medical information in addition to other research disciplines. IUP Libraries is making available our subscribed Elsevier titles (81) in addition to 700+ other titles made available through a consortial agreement with Palinet through the ScienceDirect platform. We also have complete access to all Elsevier journal titles (abstracts only) through the ScienceDirect interface. Subscribed content (824 titles) is indicated by a green key or page icon. Unsubscribed content (a white key or page icon) can be ordered through ILLIAD InterLibrary Loan. Uses a Web interface.
SportDiscus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
Web of Science
Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Uses a Web interface.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
IUP Discovery Advanced Search
The Discovery search allows you to search our catalog and a selection of our database resources at one time.