Sculpture Mono Totter II by Artist Neil Donovan in 1995
Artist's Statement :" This is the second in a series of pieces that utilize the lever and fulcrum to create the feeling of potential energy and work. "Mono Totter I" was clean-lined and contemporary. The goal for this second piece was to design a familiar looking antique machine1 the function of which one can't quite identify.
The maple screw, which was part of an antique shoulder vice, was the nucleus of the piece. It functions to splay out the legs of the tripod as the ball and shaft are rotated, thus gradually raising or lowering the height of the fulcrum. The shaft pivots vertically on a pin just above the fulcrum, and the shaft angle may be adjusted and fixed by means of the line woven in and out of a series of holes at the top of the shaft just below the yoke.
Visually, I attempted to create an honest, well worn machine from an unidentifiable era. I hoped to instigate discussion as to it's possible origins and function. I am hopeful that it will be displayed in such a way as to allow viewing from at least three sides.
Art located in Main Office Stapleton Library, Room 203
Jean Slenker
Unknown Artist
Basket
Woven Plant Materials
H: 2”
Museum Collection 2008.240 Trevor Hadley Collection
Unknown Artist
Basket
Woven Plant Materials
H: 2”
Artist Unknown
Basket
Woven Plant Materials
Southwestern H: 2.5”
Museum Collection 2008.237 /Trevor Hadley Collection
Artist Unknown
Basket
Woven Plant Materials
Native American
H: 5”
Museum Collection 2008.236
Trevor Hadley Collection
Native American Baskets & Pottery
The Hadley Collection of Southwestern Pueblo Art contains baskets and 20 pottery pieces by several important Native American potters. A number of these have been featured in exhibits.