Scholarly Communication for IUP Faculty and Graduate Students

“Predatory journals and publishers are entities that prioritize self-interest at the expense of scholarship and are characterized by false or misleading information, deviation from best editorial and publication practices, a lack of transparency, and/or the use of aggressive and indiscriminate solicitation practices" (Grudniewicz, Moher & Cobey, 2019, p. 211). They pose significant risks to researchers’ reputations, finances, and the credibility of their work.

Here’s what researchers need to know to recognize and avoid these journals:

1. Characteristics of Predatory Journals

• Lack of Rigorous Peer Review: Predatory journals may skip genuine peer review or offer only superficial review, quickly accepting papers without substantive feedback.
• Hidden or Excessive Fees: Predatory journals often charge high publication fees (article processing charges, or APCs) without transparency. Authors may only discover these fees after acceptance.
• Fake or Misleading Impact Factors: These journals may falsely claim high impact factors, indexing in reputable databases, or association with well-known journals to appear credible.
• Aggressive Solicitation: Predatory journals often send unsolicited emails to researchers, urging them to submit articles with promises of quick publication or other enticements.
• Questionable Editorial Boards: They may list nonexistent or unqualified editors, or even list respected researchers without permission.
• Low-Quality Production: The journals often have poorly designed websites, frequent typographical errors, and unprofessional formatting, indicating low editorial standards.

2. Risks of Publishing in Predatory Journals

• Harm to Reputation: Publishing in a predatory journal can damage a researcher’s reputation, as these journals are seen as untrustworthy in the academic community.
• Limited Academic Credibility: Articles in predatory journals are often not indexed in reputable databases (like Scopus, PubMed, or Web of Science), reducing visibility, discoverability, and citation rates.
• Financial Loss: Researchers may lose substantial funds on high APCs, especially if a journal deceives them about fees or adds unexpected charges after submission.
• Impact on Career Advancement: Many institutions and funding bodies discount or reject publications in predatory journals, potentially affecting career progression, tenure, and funding eligibility.
• Loss of Copyright: Some predatory journals require researchers to sign over copyright, giving them control over the work without offering legitimate publication benefits.

3. How to Recognize and Avoid Predatory Journals

• Use Trusted Resources and Checklists:
  • Think. Check. Submit.: This initiative provides a checklist to help researchers evaluate journals’ credibility based on factors like transparency, peer review, and editorial board qualifications.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): DOAJ only lists journals that adhere to high-quality open-access standards. Journals listed here are more likely to be reputable.
• Check Indexing Claims: Reputable journals are typically indexed in recognized databases like Scopus, Web of Science, and PubMed. Researchers should verify indexing claims on these databases rather than trusting a journal’s word.
• Verify Editorial Board Members: Check that editorial board members are actual, qualified experts in the field, and verify their affiliation with the journal on their personal or institutional web pages.
• Beware of Aggressive Marketing Tactics: Reputable journals do not aggressively solicit submissions through unsolicited emails. If a journal is sending multiple solicitations, it’s a red flag.
• Assess Website Quality: A poorly designed, unprofessional website with frequent errors, vague journal descriptions, or inconsistencies often signals a predatory journal.

4. Where to Find Help

• Institutional Resources: Many universities and research institutions have guidelines and library staff who can help researchers identify credible journals.
• Consult Beall’s List Archives or PredatoryJournals.org: Although Beall’s List is no longer maintained, archived versions and resources like PredatoryJournals.org can help identify known predatory publishers.
• Professional Societies and Associations: Many academic societies have recommended journal lists and can offer advice on reputable outlets.

5. Benefits of Avoiding Predatory Journals

• Enhanced Credibility: Publishing in reputable journals strengthens a researcher’s credibility, boosts their work’s reach, and improves the likelihood of impactful citations.
• Better Career Opportunities: Work published in legitimate, respected journals is more likely to be valued by institutions and funding bodies, enhancing career growth and opportunities.
• Contribution to the Academic Community: By supporting ethical and rigorous journals, researchers help promote integrity and credibility in academia, benefiting the wider research community.

Avoiding predatory journals is essential for protecting a researcher’s professional reputation, academic impact, and career prospects. By conducting thorough journal evaluations and using trusted resources, researchers can make informed publication decisions and contribute to a more credible academic environment.

Reference: Grudniewicz, A., Moher, D., & Cobey, K. D. (2019). Predatory journals: no definition, no defence. Nature, 576(7786), 210-212. https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-019-03759-y

Beall's List is a widely known list that identified and cataloged potentially predatory publishers and journals. Created by librarian Jeffrey Beall in 2010, the list was designed to help researchers identify deceptive or unethical publishers that exploit authors by charging high fees without providing rigorous peer review or credible publishing services. Although Beall’s original list was taken down in 2017, archived versions and similar resources continue to circulate.

PredatoryJournals.org is a website that maintains an updated list of potentially predatory journals and publishers, created as a resource to help researchers avoid unethical or deceptive journals. It serves as an unofficial successor to Beall's List, which was taken offline in 2017. The website is managed by anonymous volunteers and aims to help researchers, librarians, and institutions identify journals that engage in unethical practices that exploit authors without offering rigorous editorial and peer-review standards.

Think. Check. Submit. is an international initiative that helps researchers evaluate the trustworthiness of academic journals before submitting their work. It provides a simple checklist to identify reputable, reliable journals and avoid predatory or deceptive publishers, which can harm the visibility and credibility of research. This campaign is especially useful in the era of open access, where the rise of predatory journals has made it more challenging for researchers to select credible publication outlets.