Skip to Main Content

Finding a Quantitative Research Article for Nursing

This guide serves as a supplement to the in-person library instruction session. It provides information that will help you use the library tools to successfully complete your assignment to find a quantitative nursing research article published within the

Choosing the Best Database for Your Research

Google can provide you with lots of information, but it often is not enough nursing practitioners who are looking for the best information to answer their inquiries. Google searches (and even Google Scholar searches) will offer many, many results, but they may not be able to locate the most relevant and reliable information resources because their contents are behind paywalls. If you do locate them, you may be asked to pay to access. It is often cheaper and more efficient to search for resources through IUP Library databases.


Library databases are collections of specific types of resources. They rely on subject experts to gather and organize legitimate scholarly resources and assign description terms to help you locate more relevant sources with less searching. They are organized in ways that support what researchers have to do.  They are free to the IUP community, so you won’t be asked to pay for access.  The following is a list of tools which will be of most use to you in finding your quantitative research articles. 

IUP Libraries subscribe  to over 200 databases. Choosing the most appropriate database can save researchers time and frustration. 

Below is a list of databases recommended for Nursing Research: