IUP in the 1970s: A Time of Transition
“IUP in the 1970s: A Time of Transition” features research done by Introduction to Public History course students from the Spring 2017 semester with Dr. Jeanine Mazak-Kahne. They conducted extensive research in IUP Special Collections, as well as databases available to them through the IUP Libraries.
Transitioning from the tumult of the 1960s, the 1970s ushered in a new era of change at IUP. Student activism was a force on campus, the college became a university, we celebrated 100 years as an educational institution, and people rallied to save a campus landmark.
Getting Started With Your Research
Good places to begin your research:
- Go to IUP Special Collections and Archives web page and look through the Manuscript and Record Group listing to find collections that have relevance for the history of this period.
- Look through the yearbooks available in digital format.
- Consult Stephenson Indiana County 175th Anniversary History for information on the surrounding community during on WWI. (Available in regular circulating collection (Call number F157.13 S783) and in Special Collections.
- Search for local newspaper articles through Access NewspaperARCHIVE
- Search Internet Archive for IUP related publications
- Visit the Historical Society of Indiana County for resources not available in IUP Libraries.
- Talk with Harrison Wick, IUP Special Collections and Archives librarian. (hwick@iup.edu)
- Do searches with Google and/or Google Scholar to find historical resources available. Evaluate sources and only use those sources which are reliable.