Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public History Student Projects: Indiana Normal School and the Great War. HIST 420. Projects completed in Spring 2016.

This page provides links to public history projects created by students enrolled in public history courses at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Access to Student Projects

Click on topics listed in the crimson band across the top of this page to view students' suggested resources and projects.

Related Sites

Finding Information on Indiana Normal School during World War One

Students in HIST 420 in Spring of 2016 suggest the following tips for finding historical information on  Indiana Normal School during World War One.

  • Go to IUP Special Collections and Archives web page (http://www.iup.edu/archives/) and look through the Manuscript and Record Group listing to find collections that have relevance for the history of this period.
  • Look through Indiana Normal School yearbooks from the years 1917 through 1919 available in digital format.
  • Consult Stephenson   Indiana County 175th Anniversary History for information on the surrounding community during on WWI. (Available in regular circulating collection (Call number F157.13 S783) and in Special Collections.
  • Search for local newspaper articles through Access NewspaperARCHIVE
  • Search Internet Archive for items related to Indiana State Normal School.
  •  Visit the Historical and Geneological Society of Indiana County in person and consult their website (http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~paicgs/) for resources not available in IUP Libraries.
  • Talk with Harrison Wick, IUP Special Collections and Archives librarian. (hwick@iup.edu)
  • Do searches with Google and/or Google Scholar to find historical resources available. Evaluate sources and only use those sources which are reliable.

 

Embedded Librarian

Dr. Jeanine Mazak-Kahne. Public History Professor.

Email:  j.mkahne@iup.edu

7-2436