Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IUP LibGuides: Realignment in Collections

Academic year 2020/2021

What is the content that has changed?

Why is the information that I have used and relied on in the past no longer available?  

The Libraries' collection is designed to meet the needs of the university community while remaining within budget. Not all resources that had been available in past fiscal years can be continued indefinitely. The large-collection management decisions have a lasting impact on information access to IUP community and these decisions to cancel or change an database subscription are carefully considered and data-informed. For the purpose of transparency, the changes in collections are documented here so that there is no confusion about whether loss of access is only a temporary outage.

List of changes to electronic resources:

Resource Name Vendor or Content Provider Date when change occurred More details

Substitution Possibility

Access NewspaperARCHIVE World Archives 11/01/2020 Change in access: Access is only to the PA newspapers US Newsstream
Annual Reviews Online Annual Reviews 12/31/2019 Cancelation: 35 Titles were in this collection, many beginning with the title Annual Review of... Certain titles are still available from other vendors. Please search E-Journal Titles A-Z
Cabell's Directories: Whitelist and Blacklist Cabell Publishing

White List expires 10/31/2020

Black List expires 03/30/2021

Cancelation: The Whitelist is editorial journal information, evaluation metrics, and submission details for scholarly authors.

The Blacklist is a directory of journals with predatory and deceitful practices regarding authors

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator is available in Browzine

Congressional Web ProQuest 9/15/2019 Cancelation: Congressional materials

Government documents

CQ Electronic Library

Counseling and Therapy in Video Alexander Street Press 12/1/2019 Cancelation

Films on Demand 

Academic Video Online

Education in Video Alexander Street Press 12/1/2019 Cancelation

Films on Demand 

Academic Video Online

Emerald Emerald Publishing 12/31/2019 Cancelation: ProQuest Central duplicates many of the journals that are in Emerald. ProQuest Central
Gale Literary Criticism Online Gale/Cengage 12/31/2019 No new titles will be purchased: Content from the E-Books that have already been purchased will remain perpetually available. E-Books published in later than January 2020 are no longer acquired.

There are 20 databases supporting literary criticism 

JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences V JSTOR expires 12/31/2020 Cancelation of these two collections does not mean all full text access is lost Please continue to search JSTOR as a discovery platform
Literature Online (LION) ProQuest 7/31/2020 Cancelation There are 20 databases supporting literary criticism 
Mergent Online and Mergent Archives FTSE Russell 10/01/2020 Cancelations For those in the Eberly College: The Mackey Family Charitable Trust Financial Trading Room floor
The New York Times (historical) ProQuest 12/1/2019 Cancelation

Microfilm

Electronic resources (not all years are available)

OregonPDF in Health & Performance University of Oregon 7/31/2020 Cancelation

EBSCO Open Disserations

ProQuest Dissertations

Oxford Journals Humanities Collection Oxford University Press 12/31/2020 Cancelation E-Journal Titles A-Z
SAGE Premier SAGE Publishing 12/31/2020 Change in access: not all articles will be available in full text in 2021 Please continue to search SAGE Premier as a discovery platform
ScienceDirect Elsevier 12/31/2020 Cancelation. Please refer to the content box below to see access to 104 journal titles that are ordered directly. SpringerLink
Times Digital Archives (London) Gale/Cengage 6/31/2020 Cancelation

Microfilm

Electronic resources (not all years are available)

Wall Street Journal (historical) ProQuest 12/1/2019 Cancelation

Microfilm 
Electronic Resources (not all years are available)

Web of Science Clarivate 6/30/2020 Cancelation There are 14 other databases focusing on science
Wiley Online Library John Wiley & Sons 12/31/2020 Cancelation: The Wiley Online Library Backfile Collection has been acquired: the full text from vol. 1 to the mid-1990s will remain perpetually available to many journals. Perpetual access to articles from front list journals published in 2018, 2019, and 2020 will continue to be available. 2021 articles will not be subscribed to. There are 14 other databases focusing on science

 

Changes in the Serials Department of IUP Libraries

ScienceDirect: Journal titles and access dates

Who can help me find an alternative search strategy?

Depending on the discipline of the information in question, you will contact the librarian who is the bibliographer handling that subject area. All bibliographers are tenured faculty who are well-acquainted with the IUP Libraries collection as well as the needs of their liaisons' departments. They can help you create a search strategy to find new material to support research and teaching needs.

The directory to find the bibliographers is available here.

 

 

Providing feedback to collection development and administration

The collection development librarian, Emily Szitas eszitas@iup.edu, works with IUP faculty and Libraries administration to determine expenditures on the collections.Together with the bibliographers and the Dean of Libraries, Dr. Nordberg, she is prepared to answer specific questions about the non-renewal of subscriptions, expenditures and related concerns.