LibGuides: KHSS 341: Evaluation in Health and Physical Education: Choosing and Using Databases

Links You'll Need

Library Website
Link to the complete Library Website
All Library Databases
A list of all the databases we have access to at IUP

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Medicine, Allied Health Professions, Biomedicine, Food and Nutrition, Nursing, Occupational Health, Safety Science
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Health and Sports Science, Kinesiology, Medicine, Nursing, Food and Nutrition
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles.
Comprehensive source of full text for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Allied Health Professions, Food and Nutrition, Medicine, Nursing
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles.
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health, Biomedicine, Food and Nutrition, Safety Science
Provider: NIH. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Limited full-text.
Content: Articles, clinical studies
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), PubMed is a web-based search tool for accessing citations and full-text journals in medicine and life sciences.

Identifying Lines of Research

1) Start by Typing in your program or area of interest.

2) Scan the articles for terms and concepts that interest you

3) Add the terms that interest you to your search bar and review the results again

4) Look in the information below the title to identify some authors and journal titles