Introduction
“Indiana Normal School During the Great War” features research done by Introduction to Public History course students from the Spring 2016 semester with Dr. Jeanine Mazak-Kahne. They conducted extensive research in IUP Special Collections, as well as databases available to them through the IUP Libraries.
While The Great War raged away in Europe for several years prior to the U.S. entry, when the U.S. did finally enter the war, Americans were engaged in the effort in many ways. The Indiana Normal School was no exception when it came to being affected by the war. These projects document some of the ways that the INS and its students were involved in the war effort, and how the war affected the INS community.
Getting Started With Your Research
To Get Started:
- Go to IUP Special Collections and Archives web page (http://www.iup.edu/archives/) and look through the Manuscript and Record Group listing to find collections that have relevance for the history of this period.
- Look through Indiana Normal School yearbooks from the years 1917 through 1919 available in digital format.
- Consult Stephenson Indiana County 175th Anniversary History for information on the surrounding community during WWI. (Available in regular circulating collection (Call number F157.13 S783) and in Special Collections.
- Search for local newspaper articles through Access NewspaperARCHIVE
- Search Internet Archive for items related to Indiana State Normal School.
- Visit the Historical and Genealogical Society of Indiana County in person and consult their website (https://www.hgsic.org/) for resources not available in IUP Libraries.
- Talk with Harrison Wick, IUP Special Collections and Archives librarian. (hwick@iup.edu)
- Do searches with Google and/or Google Scholar to find historical resources available. Evaluate sources and only use those sources which are reliable.
Collect Background from Secondary Sources
A good way to begin research in local history is to consult secondary sources to gather background information.
The following are published histories of IUP and Indiana County.
- Cashdollar, Charles D., and Cashdollar, Donna. The IUP Story: From Normal School to University. 2021. LD2485 .C37 2021
- Juliette, Ron, and Dale E. Landon. Indiana University of Pennsylvania : Our Homage and Our Love. Donning Co., 1991 (Available through Internet Archive).
- The Centennial Scrapbook : A Graphic History of the Indiana University of Pennsylvania. The Committee, 1975. (Available through Internet Archive).
- Stephenson, Clarence D. Indiana County 175th Anniversary History. A.G. Halldin Pub. Co., 1978. F157.I3 S783
- Indiana History. (https://archive.org/details/alumninewsbullet12indi/page/n1/mode/2up?view=theater) This alumni bulletin provides a history of the first 75 years of Indiana State Teachers College.
- Wood, K. & MacGregor. (2002). Images of America: Indiana, Pennsylvania. Charleston, SC: Arcadia. IUP Libraries Call No. F159.I39 W66 2002
Indiana Heritage Journal is a journal that was once published by the Historical and Genealogical Society of Indiana County. These journals are available in IUP Libraries. A list of article titles that relate to the history of the University is available from this link (downloaded document).
Additional histories are available from this link (https://www.iup.edu/library/departments/archives/iup-history/index.html).
Review Primary Sources including IUP Catalogs, Yearbooks, and Alumni Bulletins
Once you have gathered some background information you should move on to consulting primary sources. The following are just some of the primary sources that you may find useful in your research.
This link will take you to the Internet Archive page with links to electronic versions of IUP yearbooks, catalogs, and other IUP publications.
This link takes you to a web page that that provides access to IUP yearbooks available through Internet Archive.
This link takes you to a web page that that provides access to IUP catalogs
This link takes you to a web page that that provides access to IUP alumni publications available through Internet Archives.
This link takes you to a web page that that provides access to IUP commencement programs.
Library Databases for Local and Family History
This database allows you to search historic newspapers from across Pennsylvania, Including those from Indiana, Pa.
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogical resource that provides access to billions of records for research purposes in libraries. It's a partnership between Ancestry.com and ProQuest, and is considered one of the most important genealogical collections available.
Search newspaper pages to retrieve article level information on:
- particular people, proper names, family names, and businesses
- particular cities, towns, and communities
- specific historical events and general news of the time
- illustrations, advertisements, cartoons, and photos
- and a vast array of topics like social issues, war, crime, technology and progress, education, labor, fashion, material culture, community history, etc.
When selecting search terms remember to:
- use historically used terms rather than the modern terms used today, such as the Great War instead of World War One as it is called today
- try variations on spelling
- enter words in order they are most likely to occur
Do you have advice for searching Census Records?
Finding information in older census records can be challenging. The National Archives offers the following 20 Tips for success in finding information in Census materials.
How do I find information on mining towns in Indiana County?
The Coal Culture Project offers access to images, text, and an extensive bibliography related to the history of coal towns in the Indiana County area. Visit this site at: https://www.iup.edu/archives/coal/coal-culture-bibliography/
Copyright and Creative Commons