Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 420. Indiana Normal School during World War One. Introduction to Public History. Spring 2016: Students at War

Students at War Presentation

Resources Consulted

"American Red Cross." Letter to Hope Stewart. October 16, 1917. Indiana County, Indiana, Pennsylvania, Indiana University or Pennsylvania Archives, Record 53, Box 2. In this letter the American Red Cross is writing to Hope Stewart stating that there can now be a Red Cross organization in Indiana County.  There are two pictures of the letter its self and the envelope it was sent in. Also within

File 23, Box 1, RG 78, Ronald Juliette University Photograph Collection, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. Various pictures of people and places on campus can be found in this file. Besides these pictures, there is a photo of students of the S.A.T.C. program participating in a military drill. The following photo is not developed, it is only a negative.

File 18, Box 2, RG 53, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pa, University Library. This file includes letters of correspondence of Dr. Keith referring to the topic of students in World War I. This includes a specific enquiry and then denial of an eighteen year old to enter the Students Army Training Corps. at Indiana Normal School. Also included is a list of students that were given quarters, subsistence, and instruction before becoming members of S.A.T.C. The cost to house these students can also be found here, including an incident of S.A.T.C. members breaking plates.

File 8, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. File 8 contains the correspondence between Dr. Keith and those who wish to contact with him. In this file Dr. Keith receives various flyers to have copied and posted around the Indiana State Normal School in 1918. These bulletins deal with bringing war council activities to the campus during World War I.

File 9, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. -This file contains various information regarding the Student Army Training Corps (S.A.T.C.) and the steps to bring this program to campus. Some of this S.A.T.C. information revolves around who is in charge and qualifications. This file also contains what school materials will be of use to the S.A.T.C. program, like textbooks. Correspondence from those interested in the program on campus can also be found. Messages from the War Department can also be found in this file.

File 15, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pa, University Library. Included in this file are letters of correspondence with Dr. Keith referring to the Student Army Training Corps. affiliated with the school. Certain qualifications needed in order to be accepted into the Corps. are included, such as previous schooling and age. Also included is a brief description of the two different divisions within the S.A.T.C.

File 17, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pa, University Library. Within this file, information pertaining to the demobilization and discharge of S.A.T.C. students for World War I, through letters of correspondence with Dr. Keith. Also, Dr. Keith discusses the drop of enrollment of boy students at Indiana Normal School due to the war.

File 22, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library.  A postcard regarding information of the conservation of food to aid for those fighting is in this file. More information about the newfound S.A.T.C. program like newly established admittance requirement for those wishing to enter from high school is within the correspondence. There is also letters from those wishing to know more, or join the Student Army Training Corps.

File 23, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. Requirements regarding those who wish to join the growing S.A.T.C. program are reiterated throughout the file. A paper from the president's office regarding the decline in student population during the first World War can also be found in File 23. A paper stressing the importance of food conservation at home and on campus to help the war effort is also covered in this file.

File 24, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. File 24 of Record Group 11 contains correspondence to Dr. Keith regarding different efforts regarding the training corps. A letter from a uniform factory offering its assistance to aid the training corp is located in this file. There are also many letters regarding men who wish to join the Student Army Training Corps program at the school in 1918.

File 25, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. This file contains correspondence about many things regarding the military program at the time. Letters from a Sergeant at Camp Lee regarding work at the Normal School are also located in File 25. Dr. Keith also has letters regarding the poor financial conditions regarding the war, as well as, how the military programming assisted in keeping the school from closing.

File 26, Box 3, RG 11, President’s Office Correspondence, 1918 Special Collections, Indiana University of PA, University Library. File 26 of the President’s Office Correspondence also contains information about the S.A.T.C. program at the Normal School. Letters from men wishing to join the program can be found throughout this file. Also contained is more letters from the school informing men of the deadlines and prerequisites for the program.

 

Students at War Work Group

Jacob Barnett

Melissa Caprino

Samantha Erimias

Rachel Hackenberg