Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 605: IUP in the 1970s. A Time of Transition. (Spring 2017).: IUP Women: Experience in the 1970s

Project Description

This project examines the experience of  women on the IUP campus during the 1970s. Highlights of the research show the changing campus climate for women and how IUP changed with other universities around the country to give women more opportunities and liberties. (Image from the  Women's Center of IUP, April 1978, Vol. 1, no. 1.

 

Project

Resources Consulted

 

  • ROTC in Review (Newsletter)-1970-1973, 1978-1979
  • The Vade Mecum (Handbook)-1969-1970
  • The Eye (Handbook)-1972-1980
  • The Penn- 1970-1980
  • The Oak (Yearbook)-1970-1980
  • Undergraduate Catalog- 1969-1980

Resources Consulted

Brandi, Diana. “Women’s Studies and the Women’s Movement: A Case Study of the IUP Women’s Studies Program.” MA Thesis, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 1987.

“Women’s Lib to Touch Indiana ROTC This Fall.” Indiana Evening Gazette, August 11, 1973. Article discusses the success of allowing women to take part in the ROTC program at IUP. The integration was successful, not only at IUP, and took place at ten universities. Women could take part in the all aspects of the ROTC program after the success of the trial run. The article also includes that any women who joins the ROTC program will be equal to her male counterparts

 

Recommended Resources

Brandi, Diana. “Women’s Studies and the Women’s Movement: A Case Study of the IUP Women’s Studies Program.  MA Thesis, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 1987. This thesis discusses the women’s movement and its appearance on campus. Brandi also focuses on key issues the women’s studies programs faced, including building trust and cohesiveness.

Women’s Advisory Council, RG 15, Box 1, Folder 2, “Womanspace: Newsletter of the Women’s Center of IUP,” Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania. A newsletter done by the women’s advisory council, which highlights events and issues for women on campus. The source is useful in giving insight on what was occurring on campus for women during the 1970s.

Women’s Judicial Board, 1939-1951, RG 58, Box 1, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania. The record group contains information about the women’s judicial board and rules for women on campus. The source is beneficial because it included the rules of conduct for women and illustrates the difference between the male and female student bodies. 

Women's Experience in the 1970s

Image from The Eye

Record Groups and Manuscript Collections Consulted

  • Oral History Interview Projects of the Women at IUP, MG 149, Box 1, Folder 15, Interview of Dr. Sherrill Kuckuck, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Oral History Interview Projects of the Women at IUP, MG 149, Box 2, Folder 13, Interview Dr. Dorothy Vogel, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Women’s Advisory Council, RG 15, Box 1, Folder 2, “Womanspace: Newsletter of the Women’s Center of IUP,” Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Women’s Advisory Council, RG 15, Box 1, Folder 3, Women’s Center, School of Continuing Education, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Women’s Advisory Council, RG 15, Box 1, Folder 4, Women’s Advisory Council, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Women’s Advisory Council, RG 15, Box 1, Folder 10, “The Status of Female Faculty in Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education: A Historical Perspective, 1974-1989,” Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Student Newspaper, RG 21, Series I, Bound Volumes, Folders 1-10, Penn, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Yearbooks, RG 23, Box 35-42, Oak, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Undergraduate and Graduate Catalogs, RG 26, Series A, Box 11, Folders 1-8, Indiana University of Pennsylvania Bulletin, Catalog, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Student Handbooks, RG 29, Series A, Box 2, The Vade Mecum, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Student Handbooks, RG 29, Series A, Box 2, The Eye, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
    U.S. Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps, RG 34, Box 1, Folder 11, ROTC Summer Camp Yearbook, 1972, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • U.S. Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps, RG 34, Box 1, Folder 16, ROTC in Review, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Vice President for Student Affairs, RG 40, Series C, Box 1, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Vice President for Student Affairs, RG 40, Series C, Box 2, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Center for Student Life, RG 48, Series B, Box 6, Folder 49, University Women’s Center, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Center for Student Life, RG 48, Series B, Box 6, Folder 72, Women on Campus, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • Women’s Judicial Board, 1939-1951, RG 58, Box 1, Folder 1, Rules for Women at IUP, 1967, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Researcher and Page Designer

Stephenie LeJeune
rfxs@iup.edu
MA in Public History