Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 605: IUP in the 1970s. A Time of Transition. (Spring 2017).: Saving Sutton Hall

Project Description

In the 1960s, Indiana University of Pennsylvania began making plans to tear down Sutton Hall to make way for the new library, Stapleton. In the 1970s, the Committee to Save Sutton Hall came together to save this historic building eventually getting it placed on the National Historic Landmarks listing in 1975. Thanks to the Committee, Sutton Hall continues to stand today as an administrative building and as the symbol of IUP.

Saving Sutton Hall

Manuscript Groups

MG 39. Committee to Save Sutton Hall

  • John Sutton Hall 1870-1974, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 5, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Landmarks Planning Inc. Report on John Sutton Hall, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 11, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Guidebook to Indiana 1975, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 10, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • John Sutton Hall - A Victorian Restoration, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 29, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Bureau of Occupational and Industrial Safety - 1973, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 18, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania 
  • Engineer Consultant, MG 39, Box 1, File 9, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania 
  • Petitions, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 21, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Plan of Action, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 22, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • John Sutton Hall Summary of Exterior Investigation, MG 39, Box 1, Folder 1, Special Collections, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Researcher and Page Designer

Cori Woods
csts@iup.edu
MA Public History