Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 605: IUP in the 1970s. A Time of Transition. (Spring 2017).: African American, Minority, and Disadvantaged Students

Description

The following is research conducted on black, minority, and disadvantaged students at IUP during the 1970s, and IUPs efforts towards desegregation. Highlights include information on IUP’s goals, recruitment of black and minority students, programs for disadvantaged students, student participation, and statistics on black/minority populations at IUP throughout the 1970s.

Project

Publications Consulted

  • Oak (IUP Yearbooks -1970-1979
  • The Eye Student Handbook 
  • The Penn. – 1970-1979
  • Ron Juliette and Dale E. Landon. Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Our Homage and Our Love. 1991
  • Alumni Publications: Alumni News Bulletin 1970-1979

 

Primary Source Documents

Archival Sources for Future Researchers

MG198 – Mary Shelinski Collection, Class of 1975 [Contains maps, directories, graduation information and pamphlets from 1970-1975] ~ see Record Group 53 Box 37 Folder 6

RG 37 – University Senate [Contains University Senate documents and materials from the 70s, which will give insight into what occurring on campus and/or at IUP] Series A, Box 1, Series A, Box 2, Files 1-39, Series B, Box 1, Files 5, 10-12, 17-18

RG 40 – Vice President for Student Affairs [Contains information on student employment opportunities, admission meeting minutes, annual admissions reports, student affairs reports, and Greek life events from the 1970s]

RG 50 – Special Events and Programs [Contains department reports from the 70s to show how programs changed over time, IUP Centennial papers, photographs and videos]

RG 52 – Office of the Registrar [Contains documents listing enrollment statistics to show IUP attendance during the 70s]

RG 77 – James Wakefield Collection (IUP photographer 1960-2000) Series I: Negatives, 1960-1994, Box 2: Images, 1-1973 to 50-1974, Files: 6, 10, 47, 80, 106, Box 3: Images, 51-1974 to 156-1974, Files: 9 Box 4: Images, 1-1975 to 90-1975 , Files: 71

RG 78 – Ronald Juliette Collection of IUP Photographic History [Contains various visual content (e.g., photographs, negatives, 35mm slides) of IUP]. Box 3: Photographs. Files 18-26 (1970-1979 yearbooks)

RG 81 – IUP Photograph Collection. Subseries A: Filing Cabinets. Filing Cabinet 1, Drawer A. Files: 30h, 31-40. Filing Cabinet 1, Drawer B. File: 17. Filing Cabinet 1, Drawer C. Files: 89, 91. Filing Cabinet 2, Drawer C. File: 42, 57,

Student Life

Record Groups and Manuscript Groups Consulted

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 53, File 2 (Black Progressives), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains various documents such as letters of correspondence, meeting minutes, and program proposal. The information these documents provide include what IUP was going to do to increase black student enrollment, create a recruitment program, and employing a black admissions officer, professors. Other information includes how IUP was going to provide equal opportunity off campus housing for blacks, scholarships, and creating a black curriculum/programs.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 53, File 3 (Disadvantaged Students), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains various documents such as pamphlets, letters of correspondence, and newspaper articles. The information these documents provide include what IUP has been doing to bring awareness about the black/African-American community to the white population on campus, demographic information about black student enrollment during the 1969-1970 academic year. There is even criticism IUP had received about not making much effort in enrolling more black students.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 57, Series I sub 1, File 3(1) (Annual Report of the President 1970-1973, IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains annual reports from the 1971-1972, and 1972-1973 academic years. The information these reports provide includes demographic information on full time and part time undergraduate and graduate students, and men and women.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 57, Series I sub 1, File 25 (Compliance with Title VI of Civil Rights Act of 1964, 1970-1973, IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains letters and reports that provide information on the goals and roadblocks IUP had faced in increasing their black and minority group population. Statistics and demographic information on the black and minority group populations, and the definition of several terms are also presented (i.e. what IUP means by “disadvantaged").

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 69, Series I, sub 1, File 38 (Black Students, 1971-1973), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains letters of correspondence and charts providing information and data on black student enrollment at IUP.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 69, Series I, sub 1, File 39 (Recruiting Disadvantaged Students, 1970-1972), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains letters of correspondence providing information on the status of IUP’s recruitment of black and disadvantaged students, and what IUP was doing to recruit these students.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 72, File 2 (Summer-January Program for Disadvantaged, 1971-1972), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains letters that discuss the Summer-January Program for the Disadvantaged, which is a program that prepares both black and white disadvantaged high school students for college, and help in recruitment of black students.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 72, File 3 (Minority Recruitment, 1970-1975), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contained letters of correspondence between Dr. Hassler IUP President, Fred Dakak Director of Admissions, and William Glenn Assistant Directory of Admissions, Crawford W. Johnson Director of Educational Opportunity Program, and George B. Mohlenhoff Special Assistant to the Commissioner for Higher Education. The topics of these letters were on minority and black recruitment, and IUP’s efforts and the obstacles they have faced in recruiting minorities and black students and faculty. Also included in the file is a Proposal on Black Enrollment at IUP that was submitted by Johnnie L. Graves Assistant Dean of Women. The proposal was on how to keep track of the number of black students and faculty were enrolled/employed at IUP, and the current demographic information IUP had at the time.

 

RG 11 – President’s Office Files; Box 72, File 30 (Black Progressives 1970-1971), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contains an agenda with information on how IUP could increase its black population, both student and faculty), and what they wanted (i.e. needing and wanting more black courses). 

 

RG 38 – Academic Affairs and Provost; Box 5, File 1 (Affirmative Action Programs and Plans), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contained the IUP Affirmative Action Program – March 1, 1973. The content of the Affirmative Action Plan included demographics of academic instructional personnel over all and by schools (i.e. School of Art and History, and School of Business), methods of recruitment of blacks, minority groups, and women, and demographics of minority and women faculty.

 

RG 38 – Academic Affairs and Provost; Box 5, Series A, File 3 (Affirmative Action Plan August 8, 1975), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contained the IUP Affirmative Action Plan for August 8, 1975. This document contained demographic information IUP’s faculty and other employers (male, female, black, and minority), information on student recruitment, enrollment, student affairs, academics, financial aid, facilities, human and community relations, athletics and intramurals, and student organizations. Goals and timelines were also stated for each subject and sub-subject.

 

RG 48 – Center for Student Life and Greek Life; Box 1, Series B, File 89 (Black IS), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contained the constitution for the Black IS, which was a student group on campus dedicated to creating unity among the student body, providing black awareness, and a positive learning atmosphere for black students.

 

RG 48 – Center for Student Life and Greek Life; Box 1, Series B, File 90 (Black Students for Creative Arts), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contained the constitution for the Black Students for Creative Arts (BSOTCA). The BOSTCA was a student group on campus dedicated fostering creative and individual expression, and promoting awareness of black student(s) talents in the creative arts (i.e. music, literature, art, etc.).

 

RG 48 – Center for Student Life and Greek Life; Box 1, Series B, File 91 (Black Student League), IUP Special Collections, University Library. This file contained the constitution for the Black Student League, which was a student group dedicated to building, and black pride, consciousness, self-awareness, and unity through the academics, black cultural events, politics, and social events.

Researcher and Page Designer

Sarah Henley
MA. Applied Archaeology
s.a.henley@iup.edu